First design - looking for feedback

Hey everyone,

new to these forums and KiCad. I am a software engineer who got fascinated with the world of electronics and set of on my first large scale project, creating a 3+1 game for my kid.

It’s features a set of 7 LED arcade illuminated buttons + 1 large green one, 3 rotary encoders with 10LED bars and an LED each, and a few other components…

Games are simple:

1. Buttons play tunes based on a program that lights up the right button to play the tune.
  2. Buttons and rotary encoders play with my houses hue lights
  3. Added an adafruit 8led bar on a motor to create some light show, controlled by the encoders and buttons for patterns and colors.

Anyway, don’t wanna bore you with this, I set off to create the circuit diagram to learn KiCad and figure out any issues ahead of time (turns out i did and was a very helpful and rewarding journey).

I am looking for feedback on quite a few areas:

1. My overall KiCad usage and design patterns.
  2. Due to the amount of inputs and outputs, if I chose the right way to manage them with Shift Registers.
  3. Overall circuit feedback.

As I am a new user I think I will not be able to attach multiple images, so I’ve posted all the diagram and a few in-progress project photos on postimages service, use this link:

1 Like

You’ve probably nearly reached requirements to post multiple attachments.
Conditions required for posting in this forum are in the FAQ or here.

I won’t comment on the circuit characteristics, but on your drawing style.
You get plus points for using hierachical sheets in a sensible way. How to partition a circuit correctly is not easy.
You get minus points for using portrait format for the schematic. For readability, schematics are always left-to-right (inputs-to-outputs).
A suggestion: your circuit really calls for using bus connections. Following a line is much easier than searching for some alphanumeric label.
Generally: “Chapeau!”, for a first attempt it’s good.