Error ngspice tutorial example 3

Hi Holger and all,

I have not found a solution for this problem in other posts.

I’m new to ngspice. Trying to perform the simulation of the example 3 in the ngspice-eeschema tutorial (2 resistors and 1 opamp, 3 Vsources).
The first and second examples worked alright.

I have download and imported the LF356.mod model into the opamp symbol, type subcircuit, alternate node sequence “1 2 4 5 3” and box checked.

.spiceinit file created in /home/myuser directory

This is the error message after Run simulation:
Circuit: KiCad schematic
Error on line 0 :
a$poly$e.xu101.eos %vd [ xu101.16 xu101.49 ] %vd ( xu101.7 0 ) a$poly$e.xu101.eos
MIF-ERROR - unable to find definition of model a$poly$e.xu101.eos
Warning: Model issue on line 0 :
.model a$poly$e.xu101.eos spice2poly coef = [ 3e-3 1 ] …
Unknown model type spice2poly - ignored
Error on line 0 :
a$poly$f.xu101.f1 %vnam [ v.xu101.va3 ] %id ( xu101.9 xu101.98 ) a$poly$f.xu101.f1
MIF-ERROR - unable to find definition of model a$poly$f.xu101.f1
Warning: Model issue on line 0 :
.model a$poly$f.xu101.f1 spice2poly coef = [ 0 0 0 1.5944e7 ] …
Unknown model type spice2poly - ignored
Reducing trtol to 1 for xspice ‘A’ devices
Doing analysis at TEMP = 27,000000 and TNOM = 27,000000
Reference value : 1,00000e+02
No. of Data Rows : 31

Application: Eeschema
Version: 5.1.4-br-unknown-78af1da~84~ubuntu18.04.1, release build

Ngspice version-30

I have searched for a line containing spice2poly in the kicad project files but I have found none.

Could someone guide me to find a solution? Thanks.

This is an installation problem. eeschema/ngspice is not installed properly, the code model in spice2poly.cm is not recognized. spice2poly.cm is a shared library that has to be in its proper place (though I do not know where that is in an Ubuntu setup).

1 Like

The library spice2poly.cm is provided by the package ngspice.

Debian
https://packages.debian.org/sid/amd64/ngspice/filelist