Does KiCAD have the features I use in Altium?

Hi All,

I’m a long time Altium user. I would like to switch to KiCAD, because KiCAD runs on Linux, and Altium does not.

I would like to use this forum tread to document my current Altium workflow, and see if KiCAD has equivalent commands for that workflow. If it does not, I intend to find or create bug reports that discuss those missing features.

I’m quite new at KiCAD, so I will post a lot of RTFM questions, followed by me replying to my self with a link to the documentation where I found the answer.

Is this section of the forum the best place for this discussion?

Kind regards,
Cedric

4 Likes

Why not, as long as you understand that KiCad will never repclicate all workflows of some other EDA package. Some things will necessarily be more difficult, some may be impossible at the moment, some are just different, some things may be easier.

The best approach is to make clear what you need to get, what you want to achieve, based on your experience with Altium, and then discuss about possible ways to achieve the same with KiCad. Sometimes even a simple non-intrusive enhancement may be enough to get KiCad on par. Sometimes it may be better already. Some things are in the development roadmap already, or are at least reported and have been discussed. Some things may have been refused long time ago.

5 Likes

I’d be curious to ready your questions and experience, @cedric. I think that many large companies would consider a similar move if there was a benchmark or comparison. I don’t think KiCad will go toe-to-toe, but like @eelik says, there are many ways to get things done in KiCad.

4 Likes

This is my typical workflow:

1. Draw the schematic (partly)
  2. Define new parts in the schematic library, and link them 1-to-1 to their footprints.
  3. Define the needed footprints, including extra layers for milling and engraving of the front panel.
  4. Use Freecad to draw more-than-trivial 3d models, and export them to step.