Do you like using Kicad on the Mac?

This post comes about as part of a discussion started on a Reddit thread and it was suggested that I come here and check if other Mac users are facing similar issues in using KiCad on the Mac. I personally find KiCad on the Mac very unusable and after several attempts (some out of desperation when my Windows machine crashed) I finally gave up and stuck to using KiCad on Windows. Even the most recent nightly was a letdown.

At the outset let me say that KiCad on Windows is exemplary and all the people who made this possible have my heartfelt thanks! I’ve been using it for more than 5 years and all my boards, prototype and production alike, are made with KiCad.

Since I’m so used to the Windows version now, I find several things that are missing in the Mac version (like the completely different main menus for pcbnew and lack of several setup features) and I wanted to know if I’m missing something in accessing these or they are just not there. I’m also very curious to know what others experience has been like using KiCad on the Mac. I’m generally more fond of my Mac since it just runs more smoother and longer on a battery than my windows machine and having a near alike version of KiCad on the Mac would really be having the cake and eating it too!

If you can post your version, people can easier help :slight_smile:
I believe there has been a lot of new Mac stuff on the V5 (not released) branch. Perhaps you should test it out.
If you are having crashes when using this, I would suggest you report it here:

So they can be fixed.
1 Like

The Mac versions biggest problem is shortage of users who generate thorough bug reports.

1 Like

I didn’t know that.

I’d be happy to help in any way I can.

1 Like

The V4 Mac release is the least mature platform. V5 has had a lot of work on stability and usability on Mac.