DFR0768 MP3 PLAYER footprint

I’m a bit new to kicad so I apologize if the question is a bit stupid and out of place…
Does anyone know a footprint ans symbol for the DFPlayer Pro module DFR0768?
I’m still not at the stage where I know how to make these myself.
Attached Image.

I found this link but when I try to load the download directory/file I can’t find any of the files available to load

It is a zip file that contains .kicad_mod and .kicad_sym files. You have to install them into your personal libraries. See How to get a downloaded symbol, footprint or full library into KiCad version 5? which I think is still good for v6 even though it’s written for v5. The files seem to be made for v6.

The symbol is erroneous. Pins are in wrong way (they should be mirrored around y axis).

I have version 5. Could this be why I can’t find the files in the folder I downloaded them to in order to load them?

You can’t use those files in KiCad v5, whether visible or not. At least not the symbol file – you can try to import the footprint file if you find it with the software. The file is dated

(footprint "DFR0768" (version 20211014) (generator pcbnew)

and you can try change the date to an arbitrary earlier if it’s too new for the KiCad version. But the result isn’t guaranteed. I’m yet to test it with v6.

The footprint is also very simple.

These would be good for practicing drawing your own symbols and footprints. After doing it a couple of times these would take less time than writing a question here and searching for ready made items.

1 Like

OK. Thank you very much for the investment! you’re really good!
I assume there is a link available on the website for instructions for creating a footprint as well as a symbol. Could you please attach a good one here?