Debian vs. Mint vs. Arch

Hello,

I’m in the process of setting up a new system. I’m somewhat new to Linux and would like to test drive a professional system. I’ve been using Mint for a few years with KiCad and like it a lot. Unfortunately, KiCad says it isn’t supported in Mint so I’m giving Debian a shot right now and Bullseye is kicking my ass. I don’t think I’m that bad with command line stuff, but dealing with the quirks and trying to figure out missing packages is killing me. I like the apt get thing and I’m already familiar with it.

Next up is Arch. It looks complicated, but all the instructions are right in your face and very up to date!

Is everyone using Arch a professional developer? Am I nuts or missing something? This is the kind of stuff I’m dealing with in Debian and it’s making me crazy. Note: KiCad appears to have installed OK under root@debian.

Man, someone really missed an opportunity there :slight_smile:

root@debian:~# adduser dave sudo
I'm sorry, I can't do that dave.
root@debian:~#
6 Likes

Why not Ubuntu or one of its dialects (Kubuntu, Lubuntu, Xubuntu etc.)? Works out of the box.

Debian is a server OS, otherwise you would not have seen Ubuntu, Xubuntu, etc… Use a desktop OS rather than a server OS which will just make your life easier.

Concerning your problem:

Debian, by default, creates a root user, and does not configure sudo like CnetOS does.

usermod -aG sudo dave

a: append
G: Secondary group
g: Primary group

This will just add your username “dave” to sudoers group. This will ask for your root password… Then you can do:

sudo adduser ..........

However, the user to be added should not be “dave” :smiley:

1 Like