Custom scale for a true PCB view

Hello, I started learning and using KiCAD due to some it’s features not available in the ECAD which I’ve been using for years. But some features I got used to have are missing in KiCAD so I want to make a request if it makes sense to others.
I often use a feature in my ECAD to set a CUSTOM scale for viewing. This allows to do a magic : I get a precise true size of PCB to evaluate the placement of some components (usually large modules, Caps, power resistors, connectors, etc.)
Such true view allows quite intuitive placement which takes many specs into consideration without doing rational analysis and calculations (magic of a subconscious mind…) .
When this feature (CUSTOM SCALE) is available, then user plays with scale numbers only once, measuring the rendered PCB to find out which scale gives the true size. Then this number is saved and choosing it reveals the true size.
I use it practically with every PCB design for years so it would be a “long talk” trying to explain it’s usefulness .
As additional “bonus” would be nice to have a hot key which switching this scale ON , and next click would switch back to a “working” scale.
Of cause such CUSTOM scale would be also useful in PCB 3D viewer.

1 Like

Since this is dependent on the display, perhaps all that’s needed is a calibration mode where you put a measuring tape over the screen and then tweak a “knob” until you get true size and then capture the magic factor for subsequent use.

Sorry, what is this “knob” you are talking about and what is a “magic factor” ? Do you mean the scale number?

The knob is whatever UI is developed to allow the user to change the scale until the screen scale matches real life. The magic factor is the scale number. This so that the user doesn’t have to type in a number but provide it interactively without being aware of it.

I do not see such UI in KiCAD so I don’t know which software do you mean here.