Create footprint, shield to POKEYS 57E

Hi all!

I want to start by saying that I am totally new to KiCad!

I want to create a footprint or shield for Pokeys 57E.

I have a Pokeys *.step file.

But I don’t really know where to start.

Is there any one that can give a tip of a youtube clip that is suitable for what I want to do.

Contextual Electronics have a video series for V5, but creating a footprint is the same no matter what you use, you have to be able to determine the dimensions.

I started like this:

But maybe that is not the corect way?

That looks like it could be a moderately ambitious project; what do you intend it to do?
I don’t know your background to electronic design but I would encourage you to work through a really simple design - perhaps just a couple leds to begin with so you understand the workflow for something straightforward before embarking on something too ambitious.

Hey!

Well, I’m just an electrician. 14 as an electrician, but now I work as a technician at Volvo, not with the cars, with AGVs, automatic guided vehicles, which deliver materials for bodybuilding. I’ve been doing that for 6 years.

I have also been building a flight simulator for the past 12 years.

The project is for the flight simulator, really just to get rid of ugly cables, but also to interface OEM 28V anunciator and dimming them and also hardware solution for dimming leads.

Below I have attached a picture of the first attempt.

Pokeys-57E-print-test.pdf (25.0 KB)

But when I print it, the print does not match the actual Pokeys 57E card. I do not understand why.

I used this guid: generating a kicad footprint from a 3D STEP model - YouTube
To create the foot print. The 3d step file I got from pokeys homepage.

This is the first initial test with step-down buck converters to see if I can match dim mode on led with dim mode on OEM Annunciator: https://youtu.be/6JE7aLqsRYo