Connector position and alignment

Hello,

I’m new to KiCad and I’m trying to do a PCB design that will have few connectors and some track to connect everything together. Important to mention that I don’t have an electronic background, I’m new to electronic too (software engineer background).

I’m trying to create a small pcb design to put the following components:

• esp32-devkitc
  • plantower pmsa003
  • sht45 breakout board
  • tsl2591 breakout board
  • tmp117 breakout board
  • mh-z19b

I would like to have all those components connectable with headers like this:

But I have some difficulties to place connectors on the pcb so I would like to ask you what is the right way of doing it (from your point of view of course).

The ESP32 devkitC has 2 lines of 19 pins headers, so I suppose I must place 2 lines of 01x19 connectors and align them together but it seems really difficult.

Should I mesure manually (error prawn) the space between the 2 lines of pins and then place them randomly until I can measure the right space between both (also approximative) ? This method does not seems good to me.

I have footprint for the ESP32 devkitC but the one I have is using pin hole through the board which is not what I need (don’t need through hole, just smt connector seems more logic to me).

The problem is even worst for the MH-Z19B that has 2 lines of connector (5pins and 4 pins), therefore not aligned. I don’t know what is the right way to do such a thing.

Also I’m not sure to how to know where to place what. All my components are using 2.54mm space between each pins (except the PMSA003). but the smt connector are not aligned on the grid as they are pads on each side.

I’m really lost to position correctly my connectors, any idea ? recommentation ? resource that could help ?

I’m trying to learn but I thing kicad allows us to do so many things that it become difficult to find an information that I apply to my use case.

Wish you all a good day :slight_smile: