Component Ground Plane and Trace Keepout Areas

I am a novice with KiCad. I have done a layout of a board to do prototyping that has empty sockets with no designated components. There is a pwr supply section with 3 caps 2 voltage regulators, 2 resistors, 2 leds and a barrel pwr connector. There is no schematic because it is not necessary, and how to show numerous unpopulated headers is not clear.
I used to design PCBs in the old days using Bishop Graphics red and blue tape and so I am used to simply jumping into the layout phase of PCB design with or without the help of a paper logic drawing.
I have previously used Fritzing and while it is very limited compared with KiCad it has a useful feature that allows the user to designate pads as ground fill seeds so they will be connected to the bottom side ground plane copper. Undesignated bottom side pads and traces are automatically considered ground plane keepout areas.
Is there any easy way to designate bottom side pads and traces connecting them to be keep out zones for the bottom side copper fill? I have searched the forum and the only thing I see is the creation of a netlist from a schematic (a thing that I do not have) which seems to be several orders of magnitude more complicated than simply designating pads and traces connecting them to be keep out areas for bottom side ground plane copper (or the opposite of designating bottom side connection pads as ground so as to be included in the ground plane copper fill).

I don’t fully understand the second point, but I think it can be easily solved. About the first point: this seems to be a never ending discussion. There are probably hundreds of threads here which either start with this discussion or end with it. There are so many of them that it feels unnecessary to even try to find a few links. They all end up recommending creating a schematic, with good reasons.