Cannot find parts in library

HI i’m new to kicad have v5 cant find library symbols for CD4006 SPST quad analog switch CD4069 hex inverter 2N5088 npn transistor,

CD4006 -> Use 4006 in the entry field
CD4069 -> Use 4069 in the entry field
2N5088 -> You can use the BC547 which seems to have the same pinout and footprint (TO-92), and modify the ref in the schematics. Or create your own symbol in your private library by copying BC547 and adjust the various parameters.Check the FAQ for details.

Edit : You posted in the Layout / Footprints section, while you’re talking about symbols.

1 Like

NO! The 2N5088 and the BC547 are both in TO-92 packages, but they DO NOT have the same pinout: the physical location of the emitter and collector leads are swapped.

(It is intuitively obvious to the casual observer that there are six ways to map a transistor’s three standard connections to the three wire leads of a TO-92 package. The 2N5088 and the BC547 illustrate the two most common mappings - sometimes called “EBC” pinout and “CBE” pinout. Many transistors in the Japanese 2S**** numbering system, like the 2SC1815, use the “ECB” pinout. Transistors intended for RF applications, like the MPSH10, may use the “BEC” pinout. And there are probably parts that use the “CEB” and “BCE” pinouts, but I can’t name them off the top of my head.)

Dale

1 Like

In that case (no pun intended), the 2N3904 should do it.

I only wanted to point to the OP that if the transistor he’s looking for doesn’t exist in the official library, he could use another one with the same case and pinout (after checking it, like @dchisholm did) and replace the ref (value field) or create his own symbol from it.

1 Like

There are 10.000 of thousands of transisors “out there”, and even if they were in the the KiCad libraries I would check the transistors I need before use.

My prefered way of work is to have a personal library of trusted parts.