Can components be connected with a zone fill instead of tracks?

Newbie here. KiCad 5.1 on Win 10. My layout has 7 through hole resistors that all connect at one node, which is not power or GND. I thought I could create a pour to connect them since they are all within a square half inch, instead of with traces. This is my first attempt at using a fill. I Placed a Zone, and in the window I chose the Net of one of the resistors’ pads that is common. I noticed that all seven pads show this Net when I zoom in PCBNew. When I choose fill, the border shows a cross hatch around the perimeter, but there is no solid fill color, and when I click on the pads in Create Tracks mode they act like they are not connected but need to be (all highlight). Also, when I choose “Fill Zone” there is a window that flashes quickly that could be an error message I am unable to see. Any advice would be appreciated. Silly me - I haven’t given up yet and just drawn tracks - I would like to know how to create an island. Thank you in advance.

You need to choose the highligthed option to show a filled zone.

Thank you - I hadn’t noticed that button - I assumed that it would show the fill, since I had created a zone and fill for GND, which worked as I expected and shows the fill. I then deleted that zone and fill and tried the one I mentioned above that is not GND or power. I will try your suggestion and see if it works.

Also, Filling a zone is a relatively intensive CPU calculation, and therefore not done automatically. If you’ve moved a component or drew tracks through a zone, hit the B shortcut key to re-fill the zone.

Also:
There is no time pressure for posting on a forum.
Compare:

I will try your suggestion and see if it works.

with:

I followed your suggestion and …

Working with zones is explained in two of our tutorials:

1 Like

Two hints:

1. If you do your “Tie” copper fill within GND copper plane, make sure that you raise priority level for your “Tie”,