BOM displays an entry of only commas

Hi guys. I’m new to Kicad but have progressed very quickly to laying out my own PCBs from schematics thanks to the remarkably usable package that has been created. I’ve just generated a BOM from my PCB and it has something that is puzzling me. There is an entry which is a single final line in the Calc spreadsheet:

Id=18 | designator=,,,,,,,,,,,,, | Quantity=14 |

The other fields are empty. There are 13 commas in the designator list but no other characters or spaces between.

I have checked Ground characters, there are 16. I have checked labels, there are 12. I can’t think of anything else which may be relevant. Can anyone please enlighten me as to what this is referring to?

Post your Project file or, at least, Post your CSV as it was exported.

You may also check your ‘Calc’ import settings (by Calc, I assume you mean Lebre’s Calc).

These settings work for me: for BOM’s exported as CSV in both PCB-Editor and Schematic. Note: If you have columns you don’t want imported, you can click the Top of the Column and select Hide

Hi BlackCoffee, thanks for replying. I have to ask, you’re not a closet Humble Pie fan are you?

This is a screenshot of the spreadsheet displaying the unusual entry as highlighted.

Pedal_BOM.csv (2.7 KB)

I have also attached the .csv file too so you can see there seems to be nothing unusual in the entry there either. Any ideas?

Your csv file loads okay with my settings (as shown). I also clicked my Macro button and it works okay (though, your csv doesn’t include my fields, no commas show up).

Again, set your Calc import settings to my settings…

Sorry BC, I should have thought to say that I’ve reordered the entries in the spreadsheet manually after loading it up. That is why it looks different to your own. I haven’t made any major changes to the data, just copy/paste ordered the caps and resistors into ascending value and shifted a couple of components as their values were tweaked.