AirWires not showing in pcbnew

Hi,
I am new to kicad and am importing net lists into pcbnew. However, I noticed that for a lot of my components, air wires were missing.

I get an error message saying, “Pin IC1 pad A9 not found in library SHEILD ARDUINO NANO” .

I get many similar messages as well. Do you know why this is? I am on MacOS and my kicad version is 10.16.

Thank you for any help you can offer on this!

Welcome to the community :slight_smile:

Not enough info to be specific, but I would look first at the schematic. Have you performed a rules check?
Have you looked at the schematic where a message was generated for and seen anything “out of place”?
You will also have to look at the library “Shield Arduino Nano”. Does it actually exist? When you placed it on the schematic does is “look” like you expect?

I am using a different version of Kicad but I’ve not seen a library with that name. Is it possible the library is not correctly installed?

BTW generally the “air wires” are called “rats nest” in the forum. Doesn’t matter much but a reply might use a different name.

1 Like

10.16? Maybe you mean 5.1.10-16?

BTW you don’t need to go through export then import of netlist between eeschema and pcbnew. Use Update PCB from the dropdown or F8. Even for the initial import. This in fact is the correct and faster way.

I would not expect the rats nest to be complete until you have footprints assigned to every symbol. The update will give you the errors you need to fix.

As others already wrote, the version number you posted is incomprehensible, and for several years already it’s not needed to first generate a netlist and than load it into Pcbnew. The recommended way is Eeschema / Tools / Update PCB from Schematic [F8].