Adding Raw Spice Element

Not sure if I try to do something here that is not meant to be supported by KiCAD or if it’s just not fully implemented yet.

I added a few symbols of my own for spice simulation. These work fine, but the sub-circuits are stored in external files. I would really like the sub-circuit code stored inside the respective symbol definitions. There is a selection for ‘Raw Spice Element’. When this is selected it is possible to enter the code in the code tab and save it. This makes it appear like what I want to do should be possible.

The problem is that I can’t figure out how to connect the symbol pins. When attaching an external file, the file is automatically parsed and the model nodes appear in the pin assignments tab in drop down lists. One can then simply select the appropriate node ids and everything is connected. However, when the raw code is added directly to the symbol these lists are empty, so connections cannot be made.

I’m not an expert with ngspice (I prefer LTspice) but, I have done enough with ngspice to post this screenshot - perhaps useful.

Doesn’t matter if external file is called LIB, SubCkt, Tofu… as long as it contains the needed content… I’ve even included reference to Wave files for audio simulation…

@BlackCoffee Thanks for your post, and yes that works.

Obviously I wasn’t clear enough about what I am after. Your answer shows what I think should be possible. But I am working on subcircuits for OpAmps and other more complex items. There isn’t a category I can select other than ‘Raw Spice Element’. When I do that all the things that work so nicely with diodes and transistors and such stop working and it’s fighting me every step of the way. The only way I managed to get my OpAmps working was with external files for the subcircuit.

My thinking is that I should be able to insert the subcircuit code just the same way as you are showing with the .model example. Perhaps I am expecting too much?