Add attributes (MPN, MFR, etc) to the library part?

Noob here. Looking for a way to create library components that contain attributes, like MFR, MPN, Description, all that sort of stuff that you want on the BOM. I see how to add them in the schematic, but not in the library. I want to create new parts that have all of these attributes already assigned so I don’t have to do it every time I make a schematic.
Thanks
dan

1 Like

Open the Part Library Editor and click on the button with the capital ‘T’. That will open the Field Properties window. You can add any fields and their default values there.

1 Like

Ummmm . . . . have you looked for an answer on the Forum? This was the topic of a few recent threads. Bring up the “Search” facility and seed it with, e.g., “MPN”, or “Fields” or “Adding custom fields”. See if it turns up threads such as:
Standard symbol field names initiative ,
or Order codes in components ,
or even try the EESchema Manual at …/KiCad/share/doc/kicad/help/en/eeschema.html#component-fields

Dale

Bingo! Thank you! That’s exactly what I wanted.
My next question is going to be about importing attributes, in order to build a library with similar items. For example, I like to build a library that is nothing but ceramic capacitors. So I would make a “prototype” part with all of the fields I want, like:
Value
MFR
MPN
Description
Vmax
Dielectric Type
Size

And then I’d like to be able to use a spreadsheet or other external list to build a gazillion parts by copying the part and filling in these attributes as it goes.
Pads can do this, Orcad can’t.
Can KiCad?

Search for “KiField”