Zooming and panning in OS X with magic mouse

I’m just getting started with KiCad and really enjoying running through the tutorial. I have a lot of experience with Altium on Windows and so far am very impressed with how polished and slick KiCad is.

The OS X installer in particular was unexpected bliss for an open-source project, so kudos to the maintainers!

The biggest bugbear so far though, is that zooming is very clunky - the trackpad on the magic mouse correctly invokes the zoom function, but it is very slow and the steps are very large. I find myself carefully inching my finger forward to zoom just a tad when wham, it starts zooming and continues zooming several steps after I stop my finger movement.

The next problem is that panning does not appear to be supported with this mouse. I’d be happy to buy a more traditional three button mouse, if I can be assured the experience would be better. At the moment though, I’d be happy to change the mighty mouse trackpad behaviour to invoke panning and use shift-trackpad to zoom or something. Or even something like Alitum - trackpad to pan vertical, shift-trackpad to pan horizontal, ctrl-trackpad to zoom.

Is my experience typical? Is there anything I can try to improve it?

Setup: latest everything, Retina 3.5GHz iMac.

Hello everybody !

I am trying to start with KIcad on a MacBook Pro retina.
It looks promising, but the action of the trackpad on the zoom is really annoying.
I would prefer the trackpad to have no action at all on the zoom factor, and just allow to move around in the schematics, and use the key to increase/decrease the zoom factor.
As it is, any action end up to some unwanted zooming.
Really painful.

Well Jacques, sounds like we’re having very similar experiences. I wonder why we’re the only ones reporting it?