Writing and publishing a plugin

Is there any easy to follow documentation for creating a new plugin, specifically for the symbol editor? (I am a noob)

When doing a simple search for: “kicad plugin tutorial”
The first two links that popped up were:

And another approach is of course to look closely at an existing plugin and look what’s in it. Starting with a plugin that is somewhat similar to what you want to do is a plus, but looking at a plugin that has a high code quality and is written properly is probably a much bigger plus. Ideally you have both…

KiCad doesn’t have a plugin API for the schematic part or symbols, only for the PCB part (which works only in the PCB editor proper, not in the footprint editor, if used from inside KiCad).

thank you. that settles it

Regarding to publish a plugin to the Plugin Manager, looking at the official documentation and comparing it to some existing plugins it’s not entirely clear to me how many metadata files have to be provided and what are the mandatory parameters in them… my guess is:
1 metadata.json in the package itself, without download_* parameters specified
1 metadata.json published to the official plugins gitlab repo, this one including all the downloads_* parameters

as a side note, I’m not finding the whole publishing process that straight forward… think I might be getting something wrong in the whole workflow

You are exactly right.

The docs for publishing plugin in plugin manager are split in 2 places because they cover somewhat different topics. Dev-docs explain how to create packages in general, while readme in metadata repo explains how to publish to the official repo specifically. Official repo rules are more strict than general repository and package requirements. It also has a step by step recommended workflow.

Let me know if something is still not clear if you read both docs. I wrote most of them.

Hey @qu1ck,