Writing an exporter and need documentation (advice) on file formats

I am a developer for a simple online schematic tool.
We would like to add the ability to export from our tool into KiCad so that work done in our tool will useful as a KiCad project.

I am trying to find documentation on the KiCad format so that I can determine what format to generate to get the most value from the export. We do not have any layout information at all, just schematic net connectivity. I am not sure if our symbols or actual wiring would be transferrable either, so I’m really looking for the minimum viable approach to exporting some useful data.

The original thought was to output some type of EDIF formatted netlist, but that does not look a supported format. I see that there is a PCBNew.net format. Would that be a suitable format?

Any ideas or information will be much appreciated.

Check the FAQ link at the top for the official documentation. The files are all text based so figuring them out might not be too hard. This is a users forum. The developers mailing list might be more useful to you.

Are you thinking about importing into a KiCad schematic or directly to KiCad pcb?

I’m just exploring the possibilities right now. I do not know what is possible, so not sure what the best approach would be.

We have users in our tool now, and we would like them to have a way to go into a full-feature tool so their work isn’t just lost. We do not have library symbols for KiCad, so what we have right now is just netlist connection information. If it makes sense to pull that into the schematic, that would be great, the user could then build a full schematic after that.

We are just looking for a one-way move, I don’t see a 2-way being possible.

Well here on the forum there are mostly users of kicad not developers. So we really can not give much advice for you.

You might get more luck over at launchpad https://launchpad.net/~kicad-developers (Join the mailing list and ask there.)