Workflow advice please

I am new to using KiCad and I am trying to design a simple board to get me started.
I want to mount a small, completed, pcb on KiCad designed one, along with a small transformer, fuse and input connector. Both the existing and the new boards have simple mounting holes in their corners.
So far I have created a schematic of the connector, fuse and transformer and connected it to a new component that represents the completed pcb.
Should/can I place the mounting holes in the new component before adding to the schematic?
I wasn’t able to place a 3 way screw connector on the new component, is there a way or do I add it in the schematic?

It’s best to put everything in the schematic. I place mounting holes down in the corner of the drawing. I don’t think they even really need to be inside the border of the page frame.

IMHO, these should be handled separately…

For your new board, I’d follow @hermit’s advice and put your board’s mounting holes on the schematic. There are schematic symbols for mounting holes in the provided symbol libraries. There are also PCB footprints for mounting holes in the provided footprint libraries. You will need to choose which of the footprints to use (different sizes for different mounting hardware as well as different pad sizes/shapes) when assigning the footprint to the symbol in your schematic.

For the completed board that you are treating as a component I would make a custom footprint. First, start with the connector. If it is a standard connector that already exists as a footprint start there. Add to that connector the mounting holes for the module’s board. The datasheed for the module should give good dimensional information relating the mounting holes to the connector, or both to a common feature. This will lock the module’s mounting hole positions relative to the connector so you don’t need to remember to move the mounting holes if you need to nudge the connector over by 1mm.