Will "Getting Started" tutorial be updated?

(Noob here) I’m giving Kicad a go at last, trying to get through the “Getting Started” tutorial. It seems to be still referring to an old version? Right-click menus are different, there is no “PIC12C508A” microcontroller anywhere to be found, do I press “A” key or “Shift-A” to add a component, if 25mils is the recommended grid size why default is 50mils…?? etc etc etc. I’ve barely made a dent in the tutorial & I’m already about to give up!

Maybe there is some better tutorial for a noob to get stuck into that somebody can recommend me? Something more recent & up-to-date? The “Getting Started” guide has “October 5, 2015” on the 2nd page, but has anything been revised for this new version 4??

I mean, the “Help” files don’t even link to the pdfs that exist in the install folder! Gah!! :confounded:

People are working on various docs, but whether or not ‘Getting Started’ is updated really depends on volunteers doing the work. You might have better luck poking around on your own and asking questions on the freenode IRC channel #kicad. The timestamp on the manual might just be the date the PDF/html was generated from the original sources and no indication of the actual revision time.

The ‘Help’ menu not finding the files is a problem people are working on and will definitely be fixed before the release.

One of the big problems we have is that there are really extremely few volunteers doing work and the devs are (a) already too busy implementing features essential to their own companies’ work and (b) not the right people for the job anyway because they lose track of how much things have actually changed and will not be the best people to work out what new users will need to know.

OK thanks cbernardo, points taken. Is there any idea when the new stable release is actually due out? I heard somewhere 2016, is this true?

I noticed Udemy has a free Kicad course up now, btw.

And Udemy would be what?