Which version of Kicad to use to open an old project

Hello, I found an old Kicad Project http://www.1010.co.uk/org/detektor.html and I am trying to open it. I tried to open it with Kicad 5.0.1 and Kicad 4.0.7 but I got errors with both.

Which version of Kicad would be able to open this? Is there a way to figure this out by looking at the files? Also is there an archive of older builds (the oldest I see on the CERN website is 4.0)

The first line in the .brd file is:

PCBNEW-BOARD Version 1 date 23/5/2012-13:50:57

That would mean KiCad v1? Sorry I’m pretty new to Kicad. Are builds for Kicad v1 available online?

There have been ways to open such projects with version 4. I am sure there are some tutorials out there regarding that.

A quick search uncovered this: https://rheingoldheavy.com/new-stable-kicad-10-steps-to-import-an-old-kicad-project/

This seems to be a fairly well documented (but old) project.
KiCad has come a long way in the last 5+ years. From very buggy and barely usable to pretty good. KiCad seems to be on the road for being on-par with the expensive EUR 2000+ PCB packages in maybe just a few years.

Getting confronted with (very) old versions of KiCad and conversions of schematics and PCB’s between different KiCad versions Is not an ideal way to getting to grips with KiCad. Just having KiCad V5 and V4 installed on the same PC is … somewhat problematic.

When you start with KiCad you already get confronted with multiple things.

• Having a schematic, that works (or do you have to design the schematics as well?)
  • Getting to know the GUI (And quircks) of KiCad (or any other PCB package).
  • Learning to organise schematics (Some people really make a mess out of them).
  • Learning to route PCB’s. Layers, tracewidths, ground planes EMI stuff, etc.