Where are the resistors?

Hi, I’m a newbie. I’ve googled but cannot find any answers.
I’m running KiCad 4.07, trying to draw a schematic, but I can not for the life of me find a basic resistor model. From what I can find, there is meant to be a resistor model under “device” in the Choose Component dialog box, I found a variable resistor in there, but that’s it. Am I missing something? I can find an Atmega128-16AU but not a resistor?

Either you have a wrong lib setup (defect device lib) or you filter using a wrong term.

Thanks Rene, I have tried the filters, but the best I can find is a light dependent resistor. How can I fix my device library?

What is your operating system?
How did you install kicad?
(For windows, libs are a separate option during the installation process. For some linux versions libs are a separate package.)

You can also simply download the libs from https://github.com/KiCad/kicad-library/releases
You then need to copy the files to the location where your current libs are installed. (See the dialog in [eeschema->properties->component libraries] for clues as to where they are currently installed.)

Thank you for your quick replies Rene :slight_smile: . I’m running W10. I’ve just re-installed from kicad-4.0.7-x86_64.exe with all options checked but still no basic resistor model. When I type “r” into the filter I still get Raspberry pi, RJ12 etc. I’m downloading the libs now.

could you make a screenshot of the dialog similar to what i posted?
Maybe also one for the [eeschema->properties->component libraries] dialog. (New users can only post one picture per post. So you will need to make multiple posts)

There is a chance that you have a second lib called device lib in any search path with higher priority than the system search path. (This will get better in kicad v5.)

What happens if you filter by r_small?