What went wrong?

Hello, I’m still learning. Could someone help me out with this? I can’t seem to figure out what I’m doing wrong. I can see the symbols on my pc but their not loading in the software. And I keep getting this.

load error

Sorry in advance I know this has most likely been asked before and I appreciate the help.

KiCad is telling you it can not find a Library for footprints. That means the library is listed in Project Manager / Preferences / Manage Footprint Libraries (It can be either a Global or (more likely) a Project Specific library, but the library itself is not found in the specific location. It could be that the library is not used or needed at all, in that case you can remove the entry from the library table. Or (If the library is used) the project is not complete and the library itself has to be added, or there is a miss- spelling in the library name or location that has to be fixed.

The path component ${Extras\ScottoKicad} looks odd. what are you trying to do with that? Do you have an environment variable called Extras\ScottoKiCad?

Welcome @Esco

Rather than what went wrong, it would be better if you could explain what you are trying to do and how you are going about it.

Where did you find the symbol?
Did you create the library?
Did you place the symbol in the library?
How did you place that library into Kicad?

Perhaps . . .

Yeah, maybe; but those library paths won’t be recognised by Kicad.

Something is amiss with the OP’s workflow in importing both the symbol and footprint, no matter which version of Kicad the OP is using on whatever Operating System.

More information will help us guide, instead of confuse, the OP. :slightly_smiling_face:

Maybe the OP Tried to import the Footprints as a Schematic library . . . hence

And tried to import a 3 year old library instead of creating libraries and importing the symbols and footprints.
I don’t see any library files ending in .pretty or kicad_sym.