What via sizes for cheap PCB Fab houses

Noob here…

On a 2-sided board 3"x4" (2oz copper BTW cuz of some heavy currents / MOSFETS) to be produced by one of the fab houses recommended by pcbshopper.com

For my signal traces (500Khz highest, most in < 1 Khz) I would like the thinnest reasonable traces. I’m trying 6 mil (.153) and am trying to understand the appropriate drill hole and via sizes. Please help.

1. Are there “standard” drill sizes I should be aware of? Or, are these laser cut so that I can put in any size within a range and it will be done that size?

2. What are some recommendations for these track widths, clearances, and via sizes?

1. Do some fab houses do better than others with certain combinations of clearance+track_width+via_size? How would I know?

I’m pretty sure that is all going to vary from fab to fab. The only way to know for sure is to check with whatever fab you are planing to use. Is this a prototype board or a production run with large numbers?

1 Like

The KiCad default is safe. Push further to the claimed fab limits and you can expect problems

1 Like

Beware that with thicker copper the fab min width/cleareances will change. At 2 Oz some fabs derate their specs to 10mils/10mils. At 3Oz they derate more.
You should ask the factory about these things.

1 Like

Over the last 15 years or so I have dealt with at least a dozen different board fabricators. Every one of them supplied a board that met their advertised specification. Some were well within their specification, while others were near the limits of their specification. Around two years ago I believe there was a thread on this Forum where members commented on the performance and quality of various vendors’ products. (Or maybe it was on the “DIYAudio” forum?)

Dale

3 Likes