What type of language would you prefer for writing KiCad scripts?

Recently I started learning Python, I’ll get the hang of it but it may not very easy to learn for non-programmers.
I also recently played with Eagle ULPs, they are quite powerful, have a C like syntax, but have a BASIC like ease of use. Other tools for engineers often used BASIC like languages in the past, possibly they are becoming more C like today.

So for those non-programmers out there, I have a question:

What type of language would you prefer for writing KiCad scripts?

• Python (current method)
  • Like BASIC
  • Like Eagle ULP
  • Other
  • I am not interested in scripts!

0 voters

I am just dipping a toe in the water here, it might be a dead end, so any constructive ideas welcome.

Edit: I meant Eagle ULPs, not Eagle command scripts

Your reference to Eagle Scripts are more properly called .ulps (use programming language).
I would prefer an interface like Eagles’ command language. Macros or command line scripts (.scr) would be a LOT easier for non programmers. Every menu command, parameter, etc, can be issued as a line of text, chained together sequentially and repeated to do what would be tedious tasks with the mouse. A series of keystrokes and menu selections assigned to a single key or written to a named file to be executed on command. In Eagle, command scripts can also call .ulps when necessary. Command Scripts can be used to set up eagle for a particular design task instead of doing it manually.

In short, everything that you can do with the mouse and menu selection can be done with a stored .scr file. Think of it as a shell language for KICad. KiShell anyone?

Some examples.
(http://www.autodesk.com/products/eagle/blog/what-you-didnt-know-about-eagle-script-files/)

(http://www.autodesk.com/products/eagle/blog/what-you-didnt-know-about-eagle-command-line/)

A pdf of a scripting tutorial.
(http://www.blunk-electronic.de/pdf/Scripting_en.pdf)