What is the reason for plane to pad

I’m new to electronics, and this is my first PCB
Looking at planes, I can see that when I fill a plane, kicad makes this kind of 4 legs to conncet the plane to the pad, instead of having them fully connected:

But, when I connect a tick trace, I get a full connection between the trace and the pad instead:

Why is that?

The 4 legs or spokes are thermal reliefs which serve the purpouse of decoupling the pad thermally from the plane in order to make hand soldering easier.

2 Likes

Thank you! I would have never guess that! :slight_smile:

Does this means that it is better to use smaller traces when possible? In my case I was using traces as big as I can. In the example above, those pads will have 3.3v and few mA, so I could go as thin as I want

Thanks!

It’s a balance between solderability (power of soldering iron needed) and current carrying capability, possibly also mechanical robustness of the pad if you happen to solder/desolder it more than once.

1 Like

For a current of 1A, you need a width of just 0.3mm (Although wider tracks do lower voltage drop and that may be beneficial).

Resistance of any sheet material (such as copper on a PCB) is also counted in “squares”.
If you take a PCB track and double it width, it halves the resistance, but if you also double the length, then the total track resistance doubles again, and is the same as what you started with. (It also has the same number of “squares” as the original track).
This also means that making short sections of tracks thicker or thinner does not change much over the overall performance, as long as it’s not too extreme. Sometimes very thin PCB traces are explicitly designed to act as fuses.

Yet another part is that adding (subtracting?) thermal reliefs makes it easier to hand-solder a PCB, but the copper on a PCB is also regularly used as a heat sink. For example the 1117 voltage regulators and TO252 cases are explicitly designed to use some PCB area as a heat sink.