What does the DRC's refill zones do and why does it do it?

Hi

I’m new to Kicad and just ran my first DRC on my first PCB circuit. The DRC said that my zones were out of date and that asked me to either refill or continue without refill.

Continuing with refill makes wide clearance cutouts around all my vias, this also supposedly breaks some connections to the internal planes where I have 3.3 plane and a GND plane. The broken connections are routed with vias to their respective internal layers and do not look broken to me.

Continuing without refill creates a normal looking pcb without big clearance cutouts around the vias, it also results in no broken connections.

My questions are, why does DRC ask me to refill? What does refilling do? Can I continue without refilling?

DRC without refill:

DRC with refill (notice cutouts around via):

DRC with refill (an example of a broken connection)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Refilling from the DRC is just a safety measure in case you haven’t refilled before opening the dialog. Actually you must always refill because that’s how the zones and KiCad work. It’s a very basic thing, as basic as tracks/traces. Each zone usually belongs to a net and so do vias and tracks as well as footprint pads. When the zone is refilled it’s connected to the items of the same net and it avoids items from other nets, obeying the effectual clearances.

If refilling causes troubles it just reveals that something is wrong in your design. For example maybe you have vias which don’t belong to any net. It’s difficult to say because you don’t show the same detail with and without refill in your screenshots and you don’t tell what detail is wrong, and the zoomed out view is too small for details.

2 Likes

Hmm ok. I have uploaded the PCB if anyone would care to look, probably better than uploading pictures.

DLDroot(STM)(1).kicad_pcb (1.2 MB)

It’s good you ask this.