Warnings when exporting!

I’m still new to making PCBs but I can’t imagine this is helpful for anybody. After I ordered a good amount of PCB’s for my project I found out that there is a trace missing. Apparently the auto router didn’t route 1 trace and because of the very thin line and the color of that line I didn’t notice it. This is a pretty important thing to not miss I think but for some reason the color that is currently picked makes it so that it’s hard to see, especially when it’s a single line. So this is a software design choice I don’t understand because it makes designing PCBs more prone to mistakes. But then even worse is that there are 0 errors when exporting the gerber file. Shouldn’t there be an error saying that one or more traces are not connected when this is the case?? I had the same problem with a component that had a piece of Edge Line inside the footprint so it messed up the hole I put into the PCB. But again no errors when exporting…

Is this what you get when using an open source program where these things are just not worked out as well? Or is this normal when using these kinds of software?

Personally I need these kinds of warnings because I’ve only been designing PCBs for a year or so and a lot is going on where you can make a mistake. But I can imagine this is helpful for a lot of other people as well.

If you had run a DRC it would have told you there were incomplete connections.

Edit: It’s documented here:

and here:

If you are using an Autorouter then IMO you aren’t the one designing the PCB, you are abdicating that task to a 3rd party plugin, not even KiCad.

That aside, did you run the DRC (Design Rules Checker) before making the Gerbers and fix any errors and check the warnings ? the DRC will tell you about any unrouted nets . . .

1 Like