Warning: Symbol 'GND' has been modified in library 'power'

I’m pretty new to kicad. ERC complains about GND and +5V symbols. I tried to ‘update symbol from library’ and remove and add the symbols again but with no luck.
kicad 6.0.10

1 Like

I got the same and used the Update Symbol option and they went away. Right click on a GND pick the option at the bottom of the radio buttons and it should do all GNDs.

5 Likes

Thank you. The last update option worked but I had to repeat this a few times to fully satisfy ERC.

Thanks for the tip. Why is this necessary, though? I’ve just had to do this on a freshly created schematic with KiCad 6.0.10 in order to get the ERC to pass without warnings.

I’ve run into this same issue in schematics created prior to 6.0.10 that I’ve opened in 6.0.10. It really feels like some sort of bug, and I’m honestly surprised that nobody else is complaining about it and it seems to have been shrugged off.

Anyways, after fixing this on yet another one of my schematics (by several rounds of “Update Symbol from Library”, picking “Update symbols matching library identifier”, and cursing a bit because I had to do it more times than I should have), I did a file diff. I only noticed two notable changes:

First, on a couple of symbols that had a “ki_keywords” property, its value changed from “power-flag” to “global power”.

Second, on nearly every power symbol, the coordinates of visible properties changed slightly (and often to fewer digits after the decimal point).

Its clearly a bug but whether it was a bug that was fixed or a bug that was introduced is why a report at gitlab is needed

It might be a byproduct of resolving this issue: Electrical Rules Checker does not report conflicting power symbols on the same net (#12138) · Issues · KiCad / KiCad Source Code / kicad · GitLab

It was this commit.

A lot of chores still need to be done until we get to enjoy utopia.