View zooms while I press middle mouse button

Hello,

I am new to kicad here! Using kicad 4.0.0-rc2 on windows7

Maybe I am doing something wrong. When I press the middle mouse button to pan the view, it also zooms out the view. If i do it really carefully, i can pan, but it is quite annoying. I have a logitech g9 gaming mouse.

how can I fix it?

Thank you very much!

Stop turning the wheel / get a better mouse?

I had the same annoying prob in windowsā€¦
I switched to Arc Touch Mouse
it has not a wheel but a touch surface, so it is easier to handle zooming and panning
or a trick is to move the mouse where you want to pan and press F1 or F2 to zoomā€¦
that will zoom and pan where the pointer isā€¦

When we answer questions like this, we turn people away from KiCad.

I agree that the middle button behavior is poorly implemented for mice with scroll wheels. I wish I had a fix I could give you, derethor, but I donā€™t.

Uhā€¦ my mouse is doing the same and is a Logitech M505 that had been in use for like 2 years now.
Really thought the mechanic/switch in there were the problem, but if others have this too?!

When I want to pan it sometimes also zooms out until the furthest distance.
Looking at this more closely now I found that my mouse wheel pushed right/left (horizontal scrolling) is zooming in/out as well, so not just turning it zooms the view, but pushing right/left does the same.
No wonder it runs towards the stops when I have this problem.
If I could deactivate this in the options Iā€™m pretty sure I could get rid of this problem (zooming while panning) and only allow zooming from wheel turning only, not from left/right wiggling.

Ok, i will try with this. I saw that pressing F4 and holding it does the trick

But I guess that it would be great if we can configure the mapping of keys and actions. Maybe open a request/ticket for a future implementation?

thank you for your answers on this.

I suspect the ā€œgamer mouseā€ has ridiculous dpi settings.