V5 courtyard anchor grid origin auto pin centre

Hi,

I’m new to Kicad and v5. I haven’t tried v4 and don’t want to.

Can I ask what the difference is between the grid origin and the anchor ? Why are they not the same ? Why are they not assumed to be in the centre of pin 1 ?

What is a courtyard ? Is it for rules testing ? Should it be just beyond my footprint ? I have a QFTP 44-pin device and I’ve made my courtyard a square at the tips of my pin pads… Is this correct ? I assume the courtyard is used as a physical boundary around the extents of the device and should reflect the actual device size plus an amount of clearance for cooling and electrical insulation. Is this correct ?

I’m not sure why there is a courtyard when there is a silkscreen layer too.

In my QFTP 44 device, I have managed to correlate the device to click onto the grid during placement - at pin 1. This means all my other pins may or may not be on grid points. I’m used to having an auto start of my tracks at the centre on a pin - even when the pin is not on a grid point. The track then routes to the nearest grid point - usually within the pad of the device - or the next click of the mouse so the initial track leaves the component in the centre of the pad. Can I turn on this feature in Kicad ? If I can’t, how do I click onto the centre of a pin when I want to lay a track from that pin ? Do I have to keep downsizing the grid to a silly nanometre ??

I’m having a few useability issues as you can see. The workflow for me is very clunky. Maybe my mind needs a good clean out and re-calibration to European ways …

Cheers all,

This question is not clear to me, but I think your answer is that the anchor is the center of the body of the part to give industry standard information to a pick-and-place machine.

KLC (KiCad Library Conventions)