USB/Ethernet connector board

This is my first time laying out ethernet and USB. The point of the board is to provide external connections from internal ports via a cable harness. The board is a standard 1.6mm 2-layer without impedance control . I’ve tuned the lengths of each pair and used the exact widths/separation from the calculator. The external USB connector shield is connected to ground. The longest USB pair is ~40mm while the longest ethernet pair is ~35mm. Solid ground plane on layer 2.

The USB cables will be off-the-shelf pigtails with a short <25cm extension. The extension will be a 10 conductor cable for all the USB and 12V power. The ethernet cables/connectors will be standard non-shielded.

I hear USB controllers are very tolerant and I’m only looking to use low speed serial-USB converters anyway. Ethernet is 10/100 only unshielded. Thoughts?

If you only use Base 100 Ethernet and low speed USB (which is only 1.5 Mbaud/s) i don’t see a significant problem for signal integrity.

3 Minor changes i would made:

• The USB pairs have probable a gab between D+ and D-. This is not ideal. How long is that cable? What kind of Cable? Changing it to 2 connects that are next to each other in the cable would be better. (If i am correct that there is a gap).
  • You could route one of the Ethernet pairs, the lower on in the picture, in a different way. In a way that one end goes through the front and the other to the back. This way they will have a similar length without length tuning. And you could route it a bit better so they are longer closer together.
  • Add a GND plane on the top. Not that important since you only have connectors.

But it should work without that changes.

What i don’t see:

• The track sizes and clearance in between.
  • You shematic. I don’t know if the pinning is correct.
  • How many layers you used. 2 should be enough.
  • The total length of your USB and Ethernet cables.