Unable to fill the ground plane and the voltage plane

I am new to KiCAD. I am trying to fill the ground plane and voltage plan, but I am unable to to do that. Please if anyone can help me.

A filled zone only fills if a pad of the correct net is somehow connected to it. So either the zone must be on the same layer as a pad and in the same area, a track must connect to it which is connected to a pad of the correct net or a via that is part of the correct net.

more details: Filled Copper Zones not showing up in Gerbers/Printouts/3D view

2 Likes

Hey,
Quite frankly I am unable to understand what you are saying, I am quite new to this technical terms. But, what I got from the link you shared and your reply is that I should have some tracks or vias on the layer. Please correct me if I am wrong. I am sharing the gerber of that layer which shows vias and tracks on it. Also, the DRC check is showing me Errtype(4)- Track near pad errors to me and Errtype(7)- Via near track.

Your zones seem to sit on layer In1.Cu and In2.Cu (their colors give it away).

Do you have vias going through your pcb that have the net on them, that the zone has got in it’s settings?

For example, here is a filled zone with net GND on F.Cu (see red circles in settings) that has ‘access’ to some pads of devices that are also net GND (circles in yellow).
As your zones are INSIDE the pcb, you do not have pads, but need to make sure you got VIAS with those nets going to those layers, so that the zones can connect to them.

Btw, are you sure about a 8 layer pcb if you’re having trouble with this? Quite expensive if something goes wrong, due to user/newbie error…:open_mouth:

2 Likes

Oh, and one more thing… do you got a pcb outline defined yet (even a simple temporary rectangle will do) as I think the zones wont fill unless they are INSIDE a pcb outline? Please correct me anyone if I’m wrong. :neutral_face:

[edit] v5.0.2 - zones fill outside of outlines.

Yeah. I have defined the PCB outline.

Hey,