Unable to create component symbol in KicAD 5.1 tutorial

Hi,

I was trying out KiCAD 5.1 getting started tutorial. As per pg 33/7.1/insturcution 2, when I click ‘New Component Icon’, I get a list of existing libraries (not a form to define the name of the new component MYCONN3). Attaching the snapshot. Pls guide me as to where I am going wrong.

Thanks,

Arvind Gupta

Spend some time searching what is ‘New Component Icon’. I have never used it before.
I get the same as you if before that I didn’t selected any symbol. If I click that icon when I have a symbol selected I get the other window.

I am using only - right click at a symbol in the list and ‘Save a Copy As…’ and then I edit it.

I am unable to find the “New Component Icon” as per the tutorial. I am stuck at the tutorial. Requesting someone to assist me further.

Thanks and Regards,
Arvind Gupta

In KiCad all schematic symbols reside in libraries.
So to be able to make a new schematic symbol, you first have to choose a library to put it in, and yo do that in the Select Symbol Library popup from your first screenshot.

There is a bit of a problem though.
All the default libraries are read-only (for good reasons). So you first have to create a new library. (Unless you already did that of course)

So how you showed snapshot with the list of existing libraries you get when you use that Icon?
I just assumed that you use wrong name but you use that button. In ‘my’ KiCad it is named “Create new symbol” and … read what I have written.

I also started (in 2017) from reading official tutorials, but now I know it is not the best way. They are not up to date. The most up to date are FAQs here at forum so the better way would be probably to start from:

and then decide based on their titles what other FAQs to read.