Type c adapter wiring

hello all,im new at this but to keep it short and simple,ive noticed that the type c receptacle has multiple vcc and ground connections on different pinouts (2x each) so my question essentially is;

since type c can work in either orientation is this because of the different pins and to get the same utility do i need to tie the vcc to the other vcc pin and the ground to the other ground pin within the receptacle pin out? to get the ability for either side of the cord to power the board?

kind of like this picture:

or can i remove the routes that bind and just have one ground line and one vcc?

It’s quite common and normal practice to have several GND pins (and Vcc pins) connected in parallel. They improve the current handling capability, reduce contact bounce and improve reliability. For example when a connector or plug is damaged, but one of the other power pins can take over so it still “works”.

I’m no expert in USB-C but I do know that the pinout is made explicitly in such a way that PWR and GND are still in the same relative locations when the plug is rotated. Signal data transfer pairs also just swap location with another pair. No rocket science, if there is anything astounding then it is that it took 40 years to figure this out.

I do not know how easy it is to obtain “official guidelines” for USB-C, but I’m sure there is plenty of well meant advice and guidelines floating around.

---------- Three minutes later -----------------
A simple search:
https://html.duckduckgo.com/html?q=USB-C+guidelines

Found:
https://www.usb.org/documents

And without any nag screens or other bullshit I downloaded one of the documents.

A bit later…
Ouwtch, it’s… complicated.
Different specs for different uses of the cable, CC pins that detect configurations. Just saw something about active cables that require a temperature sensor, and hundreds of pages of other stuff…

2 Likes