Tutorials on prep'ing PCB for board house?

Hello -

I’m a noob working on a small PCB that I would like to send off to one of the Chinese cheap-as-chips board houses and am wondering if there are any tutorials or docs that deal with the specifics of the proper board preparations before the gebers are generated and submitted. Things like alignment marks, origins, crop marks, etc. i.e. all the “stuff” that’s done once the board is essentially laid out and an outline has been drawn on the edge-cuts layer.

Maybe a comprehensive checklist of sorts that one can work their way though as they are getting the board ready for submission?

Thanks !
Lewis

If you are ordering from a “cheap-as-chips” house, then they likely won’t care much about your extra marks. Their systems will be automated as much as possible. Many won’t even utilize your soldermask gerber file and will simply create their own. I’d suggest trying one and learning their processes.

There are a few how-tos on many of their sites that address the proper setup of Gerbers for their fabs:

https://www.pcbway.com/helpcenter/technical_support/Generate_Gerber_file_from_Kicad.html

I had no trouble getting my first PCB made by JLCPCB. You don’t need to include ALL LAYERS… and they tell you which ones you need to supply. I didn’t need to do anything special using the PLOT feature and added the drill file export and zipped it up and went to JLCPCB to upload it for a quote. No issues.