Trouble with 3D model --- FreeCAD's fault, or KiCad's?

[[ Using KiCAD 5.0.2 on Ubuntu 18.04, and FreeCAD 0.16 64-bit based on Qt 4.8.7 ]]

I created a custom footprint for this barrier block connector; the pins are centered; this one does not come with manufacturer’s 3D model; so, I downloaded the 3D model for this other connector from Molex. Problem is, the pins are non-centered.

So, I edit the model with FreeCAD, and moved the pins to get them centered. This is what the modified model looks like in FreeCAD:

But this is what it looks like when I import it into KiCAD’s footprint editor (through-hole pins in the footprint are centered; pins of the 3D model are not):

I have little experience with 3D CAD software or file formats (just enough to, guided by Google searches, make these modifications using FreeCAD) — can someone with enough experience in 3D software and file formats shed some light on this?

This is the 3D model file:
Barrier-block-2pin-centered-0.325.step (1.6 MB)

Thanks!

Neither Kicad’s nor Freecad’s. You think the 3dmodel and the footprint are centered but they aren’t.

Install Freecad 0.17 and the workbench kicad-stepup.
Load the footprint and center the footprint and the 3d model.
Then export again the step model from kicad-stepup.

You will need to learn kicad-stepup…

1 Like

I opened the model with FreeCAD 0.17 and exported it with StepUp workbench. It works well.

1 Like

I really don’t understand this (which makes me suspect that you may not have understood what I meant).

Look at the FreeCAD screen capture — look on the bottom surface, a bit to the left of the pins; those two holes, those are the positions of the pins in the original file as I downloaded it (because the Molex connector has the pins close to one of the edges of the connector). I moved them towards the right, so now they’re centered (the pins, with respect to the bottom surface of the connector).