Tracks excluded from solder mask still covered un 3D viewer (KiCAD 8.0.2)

Hi,

I need to exclude a few tracks from the solder mask.
After selecting the solder mask, I drew rule areas around the tracks and set them as keepout zone fills.
Although the solder mask is correct in the Gerber viewer, is it normal that the 3D viewer still renders the tracks with the solder mask over them ?

Thanks.

First, just to be clear:

I guess this means having bare copper such as for example guard rings.

I am not good with custom rules. I am quite impressed that you can set a rule to only modify the solder mask layer.

The Gerber output is always the reference for what you send to the fab. But both the canvas in the PCB editor and the 3D viewer should be correct. This is the first time I’ve read about using rules to modify the solder mask, and it is quite possible you have exposed some bugs in KiCad in this way.

Both for further analysis and a (possible) bug report it is useful if you create & post a simple example project that shows your technique (with custom rule) and the bug. The schematic / PCB can be very simple (just some connected resistors for example).

Solder mask is negative layer - in places where you add something at this layer you then don’t have solder mask at PCB. To not have solder mask at some tracks I would try to draw at solder mask layer graphic lines at those tracks. But I have never tried it in KiCad.
So my understanding would be that if you add keep-out zone fill at that layer than you ensure no fill is made so (by negation) mask should be in that area what is not what you want, I think.
I am surprised that gerbers are as you expect, as I would rather expect like you say it is in 3D viewer.

I made a small pcb project to show the issue.
With the Gerber viewer, the files corresponding to the copper layer and solder mask clearly show the tracks around the square pad not being covered by the solder mask.