Track Width Help!

Hello all I have a question. As stated before I’m no engineer by any means what so ever and am doing this as just more of a hobby, so in turn I really don’t know much about watts, amps, and voltages for pcb track widths to make sure I don’t burn my house down or fry a board. I’m wanting to make my project as near as complete as I can before I have any boards made up for prototyping.

Anyways back to my question. I know my supply voltage is going to be about 5v for my project. This project has 2 boards that connect to each other via a 2 pin power cable. 1 Board has 1 5v power coming in and 1 5v power coming out to then be connected to the 2nd board via the power cable in between the 2 boards. The second board only has 1 5v coming in. I’m not sure on how to calculate my track width to be able to make sure I don’t burn my house down or fry the board. I don’t have the wattage or the amperage of the system its getting put into. I know with ohms law you have to have at least 2 of the 3 to calculate for what your needing in your application.

Let me know and like I said I’m really new to this and I’m by no means an electrical engineer. I just was wanting to try to learn something new and get a few ideas for things I have stuck up in my head while I’m stuck at home and can’t work because of my broken leg for the next 2 months.

Thanks again all and have an awesome day!!!

At least on Linux KiCAD comes with a PCB Calculator wich may be of use to you.

On windows i used to use this toolkit.

A general advice from me would be to always get your power sources as low of impedance as you can. Regardless if GND or whatever voltage rail, it is almost always a good idea to poor a plane on one layer completely with those voltages or get at least the tracks as wide as you can get.