Tips for converting to 4 layer from 2

I’m a fairly new KiCad user and am still fumbling around a bit. I have 20 years experience with Eagle and can bang out boards practically in my sleep so it’s a bit of a culture shock.

Anyway, I imported a mature 2 layer design from eagle and want to convert it to 4 layer. One (maybe 2 ground layers?), power layer and 2 signal layers. Pretty straightforward. I think I just add 2 layers and copper pour the ground one. Then add the vias for ground connections. Then move the power traces to the power layer, again with vias. So, it seems like a fairly simple, if plodding, approach.

Am I missing anything here? Are there any things I can do to make this go faster/easier?

Nope, that’s pretty much it.

4 layer boards are much easier to design then 2 layer boards, as you can have both a continuous GND plane and plenty of room to route all your signals. (Until you start doing 10.000 ball BGA’s and similar).

You’ll need some time to get used to KiCad, and learn the ways to use it most effectively.
You can use the U and I shortcuts while hovering over a track segment to select portions of a net, and then delete it, or use the E shortcut to edit your selection to move it to another layer.

While you’re re-visiting this PCB, have a close look at all your decoupling capacitors and their connections.

1 Like

I would just make two ground layers and replace the ground traces with vias, if you’ve already maanged to route your power traces.

Thanks. Though, I was hoping for a magic macro so some such…

Every IC has some decoupling already, super close to Vcc and Gnd/Vss pins though with a ground plane I might get even closer which is what I think you were referring to.

Thanks.

Yeah, probably 2 ground planes but this is the start of a number of feature additions component changes so I need to clear some space for more traces which is why I’ll look at moving the power traces (3 different voltages) to one of the groundplanes.