The doubt in the circuit driven by P-MOS

Hello~all,thanks for reading my topic first !:slight_smile:

I’m a student majoring in electronics.I’m currently involved in a project about a circuit driven by P-MOS. My classmates and I am discussing about it and we have different opinions.So here we are.
Please look at the following picture:

In my opinion,this circuit just need a primary amplifier circuit.The transistor in series just want to increase the ability of driving.If the preceding amplifier circuit is deleted,the IO of SCM will connect R31 directly.If the outputted current of MCU is 1.2A,the behind transistor is breakover.I don’t think the preceding amplifier circuit is useful.
PS: Here the SCM is stm32,this is the datasheet of stm32. From the datasheet,it can be driven by high level and then outputted 1.2mA.
How do you think ? Please reply you opinion.

I can’t read the image, it is too small.

How about this ?

Why use a bipolar transistor? Since this is a switching application you can use another MOSFET (just make sure the gate breakdown voltage is >12V). You should do your engineering calculations based on the datasheets for the components you are using; if we tell you all about your circuit, what will you learn?

^^^ This!

However, I will help a little. What I would do is download LTSpice, and learn how to use it. Then enter in your schematic and simulate it; examining all the inputs and outputs of the semi-conductor devices.

2 Likes

Which explains the thinly disguised homework question.

That would be one hell of an MCU!

Don’t know where you get this figure either.

Although this question has nothing at all to do with KiCad, my opinion is that you need to do a bit more homework so that you could ask a more meaningful question then you might get more helpful replies. But I doubt anyone here want’s to do your homework for you.

1 Like