Suggestion learning kiCAD source code

I’m a software engineer and have over ten years of C++ linux/ARM experience. Currently I’m interested in EDA/CAD/HPC development, so I download kiCAD project and build them.
Currently I found some links:

1. | Developer Documentation | KiCad
  2. kicad mail-list
  3. kicad forum
  4. some kicad usage docs.

I think the listed docs not enouth to start learning the kiCAD’s source code.
Please give me some suggestions, learning path.

For me it’s easiest to learn when I’m doing something practical. I have a goal in mind, a feature I want to build and I just go in and do it. I figure out what I need as I go.

Why are you trying to understand kicad’s source? Do you want to build some feature? If you have something specific in mind it’s best to discuss it with devs first (unless you don’t plan to merge it upstream).

If you don’t have anything specific then take a look at issue tracker, there are a bunch of starter bugs that can get you started on simple stuff. Then look at upvoted feature requests, maybe you will like something.

KiCad is a complex project, there is a lot of code. There is GUI, renderers (yes, multiple), file formats, importers and exporters, configs, tool framework, 2d and 3d geometry logic, ERC/DRC checkers and rules, scripting layer, simple package manager, and more. It’s not a textbook to learn from cover to cover, learn what you need to achieve what you want.

1 Like

Maybe this is true for most of the people, at least for me.

I have also wanted a hands on guide to the source code. A short introduction to the files (beyond the obvious) and classes. The source code is poorly documented. What would be especially helpful would be to take a workflow, say, open the application, start a new project, add a symbol to schematic, update the pcb, route, add graphics, zones etc., check, create gerbers… and go through the classess involved. Not too detailed, of course, but to get an overview.