Submitting gerber files

I’m new to this. I created a 4 layer PCB in KiCad 7.02, created all the gerber files and the drill files. Packed them in a zip file and submitted it to PCBWay. They rejected the file with reason “All the layers are duplicated”.
Can anyone explain how this can happen?
Thanks, Russ

We don’t know what happens in PCBWay, and you don’t show us what happened with your work. We don’t for example know if layers were really duplicated. If you want us to help you, you have to give more information. The best would be the whole zipped project with the gerbers etc. At least you have to describe the files and your workflow which may be very difficult because you don’t know what’s relevant.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply. I am really stumbling around in the dark here. I wonder if the files I submitted are not compatible with what PCBWay expects. I saw somewhere where the default extensions for gerber files are different than what KiCad creates. I tried to view the gerbers with a tool called Gerbv, and it threw a lot of errors claiming invalid RS-274X extension. However the gerber viewer in KiCad does not seem to have any problems reading or showing the files. One thing I notice when viewing the gerbers is that no matter what layer I select, the view shows all layers. That doesn’t seem right.
I will get the project together in a zip file in a bit and submit it.
Thanks, Russ

This tells you what to do for PCBWay: PCBWay KiCAD info

Make sure you don’t output the zip file to the same directory as the gerbers. After the first time this has the result of including a previous zip in the new zip, thus creating two copies of each layer.

Thanks, that was not the problem. I erased the entire folder before generating new files, including the previous zip file.