Strange behaviour dragging wire segment

Hello Everybody,
I’m a beginner in Kicad and I have a simple question, I can’t find answers in the documentation.
In the schematic editor, when I edit a schematic and start dragging a wire segment, if suddenly this wire segment stops on another wire, a connection appears at the intersection. What can I do to prevent it?
Thank you in advance.

1 Like

Also hello and welcome to the communtiy!

Maybe one hint: It would be helpful for others looking for similar info - and more motivating for people trying to help you - if you would change the thread title into something more meaningful. “A question from a beginner” is totally irrelevant.
What about “Schematic: Strange behaviour dragging wire segment” or so? You could add “(beginner)” if you feel like it, but posting beginner questions is totally fine here, no need to excuse.

Also, re-reading your question at least five times I still don’t get what you are referring to. Maybe post a screenshot? IIRC there is some limit for first-time posters, search the forum.

I anticipated this and raised them to basic already.

I am guessing you are doing something like this:

So in answer to that dragging in the schematic question – don’t do that :slight_smile:

Yeah, if it ends coincident with another net it merges them. It’s annoying. Should give a warning.

Sometimes you can anticipate it and be careful when dragging, and sometimes it is just easier to delete and re-do. Or, add your new lines first then delete old ones.

Hello Martinn
Thank you for recommendations,
I’ll try to explain more clearly.

I’m trying to drag the segment shown in the picture to the right. If I stop the segment movement on the +5VD wire and release the left mouse button, I have a connection established between these wires, as shown in the second picture.

Exactly!
Is there really no way to get rid of this?
I’m an eagle user, and I also tried using DipTrace, but it didn’t happen there either.