Spartan 7 library/footprint/3d-Model available anywhere?

OK, first, the admission: I’m an FPGA designer in the aerospace industry. The thing is, in these giant companies there’s always a librarian, or a PCB layout expert, or a signal integrity expert, etc. I can lean on. This is my first project doing it all myself, without corporate support. So, the questions may seem clueless, but I promise I’m very good at what I do. :slight_smile:

I’m putting together a PCB with a Spartan 7 ( XAS175-1CSGA225Q ). I have my libraries set up as clones of GitHub, and they APPEAR TO BE properly set up in my project.

I cannot find any reference in the library to the Spartan 7… although I found a thread that makes it sound as if a team was working on it a year ago.

I don’t want to create the model by hand, from scratch… and I really don’t want to have to learn how to do 3d models right now…

Is such a thing available anywhere?

Thanks for your help!

Please always include links, not just names.

1 Like

I keep a set of KiCad schematic symbol libraries for all the Xilinx devices here. However, the XAS175 isn’t in there and I can’t find any mention of it on the Xilinx site or in their set of pin tables (which I use to generate my libraries). Most Spartan-7 FPGAs have a prefix starting with “XC7S”. I do have a symbol with the part number xc7s15csga225.

1 Like

Fair enough.

Apparently I wasn’t quite specific enough, it’s the Spartan 7 XA product line. All I noticed is, it’s $21 at Digikey.

https://www.xilinx.com/products/silicon-devices/fpga/xa-spartan-7.html

https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/xilinx-inc/XA7S15-1CSGA225Q/122-XA7S15-1CSGA225Q-ND/10445654

If you don’t mind me asking, how do you generate the library from the table? a set of hand-rolled scripts? Or is there a tool available on The Internets somewhere?

I’ll dig around and see how similar they are. Thanks!

I feed these files through a Xilinx-specific preprocessor and then KiPart creates the symbols.