Some library questions

Hello…
I’m new to KiCad and have some questions.
I don’t like to have any unverifyed part on my board. So using common library can be dangerous. So I want to make my own library and then I want to copy or create parts that I can verify. Then I need to select only my library (I cant find a way to select all /none) and make design out from that. Is that feasible way to do? (I assume that I manually need to copy symbol, footprint and 3dfile.)

Yes, it is totally feasible and what I do for a long time. In the past both footprints and schematics library were used directly, hence a change on the library reflected right after you had reopened your project. Than the new pcbnew format changed the way footprint works and you were safe on the layout part. It does not change without your confirmation.

Schematics symbols on the other hand remained the same for a long time and finally will be change with v6 (If you use nightlies, which is versioned as 5.99 you’ll see the same change.) Now the new file format, kicad_sch would not update any symbols without your confirmation.

Well, as a precaution I’ll be still using my own library and copy/paste new symbols and footprints into it. Also I add some new variables to my symbols which is unnecessary for public usage.

Ok at least that is feasible but need to find out problem as I got segmentation fault when I rename or delete symbol. will try nightly

There is (was? *) a bug which is occurred when you delete or change some locked items. Could you check that they are not locked at all?

Usually 5.1 branch is more stable compared to nightlies.

*: I’ve seen somewhere that it had been fixed, but not sure about that.

Thinking again, what I mentioned is about footprints on pcbnew, not libraries.

Which OS do you use and how do you install KiCad (from which source)?