<SOLVED>Installing and Running Nightlies on Linux Mint

Hey there,
Hope this is the best place to post this question.

I’m attempting to run Kicad-nightly on Linux MInt 19.1 (Cinnamon) - my computer is a Lenovo x240.

I followed the LInux Mint installation instructions on the Kicad website.
Everything appeared to install correctly in terminal. There we no errors from what I can tell.
However I can’t figure out how to run the program!

While I have a couple years experience using Kicad (nightlys) on Mac and Windows, I have almost no experience with Linux. I’m hoping to learn more and am down do my own research if anyone can suggest some resources!

Please let me know if I need to elaborate on anything to help people to answer this question!

-Zach

Why don’t you tell what you have tried already.

I searched for where the nightly files were downloaded and eventually found the folders (i think).
I expected to find some file I could double-click to run the program…but I’m beginning to think that was a foolish assumptions.
Again, I am extremely unfamiliar with Linux and wonder if I’m missing something super basic about how installing and running programs works in Linux.

So you didn’t actually install those files? Just downloaded them? Yeah, that’s not how you work with Linux (at least Mint and other Ubuntu derivatives). You have to add the repository to the list of repositories which are used when programs are installed. Then you install using a command line program or a graphical UI. This is so basic for Linux and so much beyond this forum’s subject matter that you should learn it first.

Start with searching for “ubuntu how to install software” or something similar, you will get tons of hits. Or try the official Mint or Ubuntu documentation. “apt” is the system you will use and you have to add a “PPA” to the repository list.

1 Like

Fair enough!
Thanks for the response

just go here and read a bit :wink:
kicad on linux-mint

2 Likes