[Solved[ Does Pin Orientation Matter on a Symbol?

Hello,
I have an ATMega6224PA mounted on a breakout board and I am a total noob to KiCad. Watching videos, I notice when they lay the pins out, the pins have a trace and an little round circle ( o— —o pins). The little circle going toward the outside of the part with the traces going to the ‘symbol body’, then draw the symbol body around the end of the traces makes a nice looking IC. The traces become the legs of the IC, the holes are the connection points.

My issue comes when I lay out the pins on my part, the text for pin description, pin number, input/output overlap each other and make it almost impossible to manage or grab and edit a pin after it has been covered up by other text from other pins. IF I flip the direction 180 degrees of the pins, all the text displayed fits nicely around the outside of the symbol body.

At one point I was unable to even lay out a symbol body because, well, it was late, but there was just too much mess to see where the symbol body goes because flipping the direction of the pins to get all the text to layout nicely changes also changes the location of the connection points. Then again, this is just a schematic part and not the real part. Right?

Here are the pins laid out the way I see on videos…
ATMEGA6224PA-Breakout1-flipped

Which is also where I lose it on defining the symbol body.

Unfortunately, I can only attach one picture.

This is what it looks like with the pins reversed. Which looks pretty but the symbol body is too big… ?

ATMEGA6224PA-Breakout-Top

ATMEGA6224PA-Breakout-Stencil-Bottom

You are mixing up 2 different things.

1. Schematic symbol.
  2. Footprint.

When Schematic symbols are drawn with the pin orientation of the footprint you get into trouble. Either it won’t fit at all, such as in your case, or you end up with incomprehensible schematics because you have to draw wires all over the place to make the connections.