Solder mask aperture bridges error

So, I am new to this and can’t find how to fix my 70 errors if rear/front solder mask aperture bridges items with different nets.

I attached my PCB and a view of a handful of the errors. I have searched and found topics on this but nothing on how to fix it that has worked for me.

I did not create a schematic first I did not know how. I used parts from the preloaded software.

Thanks

I am afraid you need to change your work flow :slightly_smiling_face:without a schematic how does Kicad know what is connected to what ? With schematic Kicad will then draw lines (ratlines) on the PCB for you and you follow that. At this point may I suggest that you read some Kicad Starting guides or just as good you could watch some you tube videos of which there are plenty.
:mouse:

So, everything the board is connecting to is a row of 2 headers with 19 pins each with an outline for the device I plug in. I then manually connected everything I need. It snapped to each item like it was supposed to. The way I look at it Kicad would have no idea what should connect to what since it will be blank headers. If I make a mistake, it will never know I will have to check my work. It was harder to learn and understand the schematic side of it then it was to just put it together. So are you telling me I will always have those errors unless I have a schematic first. Does it mean it won’t work, or the errors will just stay?

Attempting to design a PCB without a schematic in KiCad is a folly. Very big parts of KiCad do not work properly without a schematic and the netlist it creates. Sure, it does take some time to learn to draw a schematic and assign footprints, but once you’ve gotten used to it, it’s quicker to do with a schematic, than without it. Without a schematic you’re constantly rowing upstream in KiCad.

1 Like